Different Types of Learners – VARK theory

Although I’m not a teacher it’s still important for me to know the different types of learners within my class so that when they need help I can work out what way works best for them.

VARK, according to Chelsi Nanako (Prezi Blog) is the most popular theory that identifies the four main types of learners.

  • Visual
  • Auditory
  • Reading/Writing
  • Kinesthetic

Depending on the type of learner you are you will respond to the four different ways of learning in varied ways. I decided to take a quiz online just to see what kind of learner I am. The quiz I will be taking is online at http://vark-learn.com/the-vark-questionnaire/.

VARK

My results

Based on the questionnaire, I’m more of kinesthetic learner. I didn’t really expect that as I thought I was more of visual kind of learner and a bit of Read/Writing one as that’s what I always done for my exams found that it worked well but I guess i’ve been learning the wrong way? Still that was quite interesting to find out and I may look into better ways for me to learn too because in University over the past two years of Animation only, i’ve been struggling to learn everything I find it all a bit too much and often I feel like i’m very far behind the rest of the class. I have to be honest that there is something wrong as my foundation year results where much higher than the ones i’ve been getting in Animation so maybe with all this new knowledge about how to learn will benefit me for final year?

Video that I found very useful – Vark-Learn.com

I think it’s important to find out how each student learns  as it can benefit them in school – this is true because it took me up until last year of Alevel to find a way of revising that suited me. Some of my friends would sit and ask each other questions for subjects like History so they got the information into their head while others would copy down the notes or they’d just sit and read the information we’ve been given.  I never revised properly from 1st – 3rd year for the end of year exams and during the GCSE days. I was all over place with the different ways of revising and often I did very little or none at all. For some subjects like Science, i’d just highlight important things from the booklets we got and write them down while with other subjects such as History I would type up shorter notes. As for maths…I never revised, I had no idea how to learn those things…I did fill in booklets they gave us to revise but I often found myself going back to the textbooks to try and understand how do certain things and even then I often still didn’t understand them.

Although the VARK theory seems like a good idea I can’t help but think it could be confusing or unhelpful to some who may come out with the same amount of points for each of the ways of learning…I got 7 for kinesthetic and 5 for Visual, ok it’s two points away but still perhaps I could be more of a visual person? But I guess it may depend on the information being given. I may have a look at perhaps some criticisms of this theory if there is any. -**Ok after a bit more browsing on the VARK-Learn website they actually go into a bit about “Multimodal” Strategies for people who are mixed and are perhaps something like Visual – Kinesthetic learners etc (http://vark-learn.com/strategies/multimodal-strategies/). They suggest for you to take from key words of each strategies they suggest for each of the learning ways to help you.

This video kind of relates to what I was saying there:

Neil D Fleming talks about how it’s just one aspect of learning and with the 16 questions they ask it does not include things such as how motivated a person is, what their motivation is like during the morning/night or when they’re hungry etc.

The infographic that Chelsi Nanako included in the blog post summed up each learner pretty well so here are the notes from the infographic. Although this blog post is aimed at how to make your presentations suitable for all the learners it was still useful because it can benefit teachers when they’re having to present ideas to everyone in the class which is full of different types of pupils who each have their own individual way of learning.

Visual Learners

  • Prefer to see information and to visualise the relationships between ideas

Auditory Learners

  • like to recite the information out loud to remember it

Reading/Writing Learners

  • Reading and writing down the information – interacting with the text more important than images

Kinesthetic Learners 

  • Hands on, experience based learners. Learn best by doing things

References:

Nakano, Chelsi. “The Four Different Types Of Learners, And What They Mean To Your Presentations”. Prezi Blog. N.p., 2016. Web. 22 Feb. 2017.

“The VARK Questionnaire”. Vark-Learn.com. N.p., 2017. Web. 22 Feb. 2017. 

VARKLearn. (2011).How Can Teachers and Students Use VARK?. [Online Video]. 19 September 2011. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y61rOubbFCE. %5BAccessed: 23 February 2017].

VARKLearn. (2011). Is VARK a learning style?. [Online Video]. 19 September 2011. Available from: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RMfiWdAUkBg. [Accessed: 23 February 2017].

“What Is Visual Thinking And Learning?”. Inspiration.com. N.p., 2017. Web. 22 Feb. 2017.

Other Websites I read but did not reference

http://www.lancsngfl.ac.uk/curriculum/english/download/file/LearningStyles.pdf

http://www.kidspot.com.au/school/primary/learning-and-behaviour/learning-styles-in-children

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2017/mar/12/no-evidence-to-back-idea-of-learning-styles

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2017/mar/13/teachers-neuromyth-learning-styles-scientists-neuroscience-education

https://www.theguardian.com/education/2005/may/31/schools.uk3

Leave a Reply

