Design Discourse 1 – Maya Modeling – Research and Book for room

Because I didn’t really understand modeling in class even after Alec explaining it to me.  I went home and looked up some tutorials on Youtube to create some simple items like a book. 

I chose the book because it was one of my items for the room so these tutorials were really useful. Each one has a slightly different way of doing things. I found that these tutorials really helped me get used to the whole modeling side to Maya.  

Maya 2015 Tutorial – Making a book Basic by Litruv

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ED_W4e4HGwA 

Book modeling in Maya 2011 – Basic modeling tutorials by PuppetArts

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KzI96i_aOYA

Maya Tutorials: Simple Table with Books Modeling – Only with Extrude tool 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iZiYw8L1K58

The final book model I created

image

image

The image of the book I was basing it on 

image

Even though it is not the same thickness as the real book I thought I done well with this because I managed to understand modeling a bit more and I was able to make the book. 

Leave a Reply

