Creative Elements – Sound – Joe Hisaishi

Hisaishi would have to be one of my favourite composers for music in Animations. There’s something about his music in the Studio Ghibli movies that make me feel somewhat more attached to the films. I really love his music in Howl’s Moving Castle (2004), It’s hard to explain why I like it. I guess words can’t describe why it’s my favourite. I also really like the music in My Neighbour Totoro (1988). His music is really calming to me and it often inspires me to draw when i’m in an “art block”. 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X9mGQU7rGGM – Studio Ghibli 25th Anniversary Concert 

Hisaishi has produced music for 9 of the Studio Ghibli films directed by Miyazaki, the first one being Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind (1984). Hisaishi has also produced some of his own albums as well as music for several other movies and tv shows. All of which you can find on his official page,  http://joehisaishi.com/works.php?cat=tv

 

Leave a Reply

